She says she loves me

“She says she loves me” is a poem by Lamont Carey, American Spokenword artist . I first heard it on Kendrick Lamar’s track Opposites Attract  off his 2010 mix tape  Overly Dedicated.

It’s a beautiful work of art, depicting the true meaning of love and the sheer irony of it. Enjoy ! 🙂

“She says she loves me, she says she loves me.
So, she clings to me even when I want to be left alone.
But she’s beautiful.
Like, sometimes when I have things on my mind, she’s the perfect person to listen.
And she only gives advice, she says when I give her a cue.
She says she loves me.
Like, when I wake up in the morning
she’s sitting on the edge of the bed with a plate of food, wanting to feed me.
She says she needs me, she says she loves me.
Or like when I’m stepping out of the shower she’s standing there with the towel, wanting to, wanting to dry me off.
She says, she says she loves me.
So, instead of admitting that she has made another mistake.
She says, she says she loves me
And I don’t know about love.”

Lamont Carey 
Leave a Reply

