A billion-heir

My dearest Reson,

I could think of a thousand ways to start the opening paragraph to this letter but I’m pounding on thousands of ideas and each new one keeps drifting away. So forgive me for lack of creativity, but I just settled on nothing more than this abstract representation of my current state of mind. Yes, your mother does have a tendency to ” sometimes overstate things,please bear with her . 🙂

You should probably know, I’m in a very good mood as I’m writing this piece. The weather is perfect for starters, just sun, sand and the wind in my hair (My long hair!). I’m sitting on the front porch of my beautiful reclusive cabin. I come here often, when I want to rid myself off life’s drudgery. Whenever I feel I need to remember how it feels to actually hear my own thoughts, this is where you’ll find me. It’s a really nice place, best of nature’s finesse. Trees, lake side view, fresh air,peace and quiet. Basically everything the modern day human being does not think he needs.

Oh and did I mention the cute little squirrels and the chirping birds which sing outside my window every morning as the Sun rises.And the unicorns and the dolphins??  Okay wait…Don’t go… I’ve stopped…no more overly imaginative taradiddles. If I continue any further I’d sound like I’m in the Garden of Eden and I very well am far from it.

By now, I’m sure you’ve probably figured out that none of what I had exorbitantly described earlier is even remotely real. I’m sitting on my bunk bed, the air is stale, filled with nothing but unquenched desires and unfulfilled dreams. It’s dead of night and even the neighbor’s dog is asleep. And trust me that wretched dog does not sleep.

To be honest, these past few days have been really hectic, there has been so much pain and death all around, I’m starting to think that “hell on earth” is not just a metaphorical statement any more. I mean, I’ve always known that life is short, you’ve got to treasure each day, such and such the quotes are endless. You grow up hearing these things. You read them in the papers and in books. You hear people say them. But it never makes much sense to you until in one way or another, life deals you such a heavy blow you’re left there motionless on the cold hard ground, struggling to come back to your senses.

I’ve watched people lose everything they have in a matter of seconds be it, life or wealth, joy or health. All these things can disappear in the blink of an eye, quite literally. So here I am, writing a letter to my unborn daughter, not because I am assured that I’ll  get a daughter or that I’ll even live to have one in the first place, simply because this is what I want and I hope it comes true.

As human beings we like being in control of our situations but we are crippled by our inability to see or control what happens in the future. So all we can do is hope and trust that the future holds in good faith, everything we aspire to do, or become. But most importantly, we have to hope that, this same future also holds us in store.

So my dear Reson, life is capricious in itself, learn to accept what it brings your way. Don’t be afraid to make mistakes, trust me, I’m making mine every day. There’s nothing wrong with being a young girl, with a barrage of dreams and aspirations weighing on her head. No matter how heavy they get, hold your head up high.

In all the wealth that I will posses in my life, this is probably the most valuable thing I can offer you. My thoughts and experiences, which I give to you wholly and with the purest of hearts. For I know that as I go about my daily business burning bridges and building them back up, as long as I know someone will learn from them, I have the strength of a thousand men. And I can burn and build bridges as long as I have air flowing in and out of my lungs.

So when that boy steals your heart, go steal it back from him, if it’s broken, pick the pieces up, put them in a duffle bag and go glue them back together in the comfort of your home.  When you start doubting yourself, find the nearest stop and get off that train of thought as soon as you can, it’s going nowhere. When you cry, cry until you can cry no more and when you laugh, laugh as if your whole life depended on it. When you’re down as long as there is a sky, always know that there is something to look up to. And when you find whatever it is that you are looking for in life, no matter how frail or insignificant it might be, nurture it with all your heart, mind, body and soul.

A billion thoughts, a billion mistakes a billion experiences, a billion regrets, as long as I live this is what I shall leave. For you to use as a torch when there is no light, as a sword when you need to fight, and as a shield when you need to hide.And so my dear with those “few” words, always consider yourself “A billion heir” you are  far more wealthier than you can ever imagine.

Yours in mortality and immortality alike,

holdon

Leave a Reply

